Terry Pratchett’s Nation

I’m a big fan of Terry Pratchett’s work.  I’ve got all the Discworld novels and most of the other books he’s written, so when my mate, Gareth, and I were bought tickets by our respective wives to go and see Nation at the National Theatre just after Christmas, I think it’s safe to say we were both excited.

The book is all about two survivors of a tsunami in the south seas in an alternate Earth, one the last of his people from the island (the Nation) and the other a girl who lands on the island after the ship on which she is passenger is wrecked.  Others arrive throughout the book, but it is their story really.

The show was fantastic. Visual effects were stunning and the sound was brilliantly done.  All in all it was a wonderful night out.  So when I heard that they were beaming it live to cinemas across the globe on Saturday, I just had to go again, this time with my wife, Karen.

I didn’t know quite what to expect, but the show transferred well to the big screen.  Some of the visual effects weren’t quite as stunning, but as they had been designed for theatre goers rather than a cinema screen I think that’s fair enough.

I’ll let Terry and Mark Ravenhill, writer of the play adaptation, give you a little more info.

I believe the show is on until the end of March.  If you’re a Pratchett fan, or even just a fan of well produced theatre, I urge you to go see this one.

Leave a Reply

