The Usual Suspects

I got a call a couple of weeks ago asking if I’d like to audition for local band The Usual Suspects.  I wasn’t looking to join a band, but what the hell?  The drummer is my good friend, Steve Eastment, with whom I’ve played on many occasions, so I was looking forward to jamming with him again.

The audition went well and I was offered the job on the spot with only the sacking of the old bassist determining when I would actually start.  “That’ll give me a while to get up to speed,” I figured.  How wrong was I?  Last Monday morning I got a call saying that he’d been sacked the previous evening and asking if I’d be able to learn the set by Friday.  No problem…

Long story short, I turned up to my first gig having spent most of the week on the project – about 30 songs, only about 5 or 6 of which I already knew – and plunged in.  Audience-wise the gig was a washout, but it did give me the opportunity to figure out which songs had stuck in my memory and which needed more work, so by Saturday I was feeling quite confident for what was my first gig at The Malthouse in Ironbridge.  I still dropped a few notes here and there, but I walked away happy with my performance.

There are still a number of songs which I need to get used to – things like Mr Brightside by The Killers, You’re All I have by Snow Patrol and Talk by Coldplay, the kind of bands I’m not into – but they are offset by a couple that I’ve done more than once or twice in other bands – Word Up and Hard To Handle for instance.

Looks like the band could be quite busy, so I’m looking forward to getting back into the groove.

Leave a Reply

